

Utah Department of Government Operations

Education Assistance

DGO Policy Internal 03

Effective Date: 10/1/2021 Revised Date: Sunset/Next Review Due: 10/1/2022 Approved By: Jenney Rees References/Authority: Utah Administrative Code Section R477-10-5

1 PURPOSE

This policy provides an education assistance program to Department of Government Operations (DGO) employees. This program benefits the state through improved employee performance and increased career potential.

2 GUIDING PRINCIPLES

Taxpayer monies must be used judiciously. While education assistance is not an employee right, DGO is supportive of education assistance when there is clear benefit to the employee and to DGO resulting in enhanced public good. Providing education assistance depends upon availability of financial and other resources and is granted at management's discretion and in accordance with Section R477-10-5.

The Executive Director may make exceptions to this policy as allowed by applicable law.

3 POLICY

3.1 Standards

The following standards apply to a DGO employee who requests education assistance to receive reimbursement from DGO.

- A. Full time benefits eligible employees in Schedules B, AD, AR, AS, or AT, who are not currently on a performance improvement plan (PIP) or the subject of disciplinary action, and have been employed by the state of Utah for a minimum of twelve consecutive months are eligible to apply for education assistance.
- B. An employee may receive reimbursement of up to 100% of the cost of tuition, books, and fees, but no more than the annual maximum allowable amount of \$5,250.00 unless the Executive Director grants an exception (see Section R477-10-5).
 - a. Courses must be related to the employee's current position or another position within DGO.
 - b. Reimbursement may be prorated depending on the availability of funds, the degree to which an education program provides a benefit to DGO, or both.
 - c. Reimbursement amounts are agreed to by management and the employee when an education assistance agreement is finalized.
- C. When possible, employees attend classes during non-working hours.



Utah Department of Government Operations

- a. A modified work schedule may be granted to the employee if a class is taught only during times when the employee is scheduled to work.
- b. If a modified work schedule is allowed, that privilege may be used as the exclusive form of education assistance, or it may be used in combination with reimbursement for tuition, books and fees.
- D. All approvals must be received prior to enrolling in a course for which reimbursement is sought. Payment advances for coursework are not permitted.
- E. A new agreement is required for each course for which the employee requests education assistance.
- F. An employee with an approved education assistance agreement shall be reimbursed upon providing evidence of successful completion of the course and a receipt showing the amount paid for tuition, books and fees.
 - a. Successful completion is considered a grade of "C" or better or a "Pass" in a pass/fail system.
 - b. Copies of the employee's grade transcript, approved agreement, and a receipt for tuition, books and fees paid shall accompany each reimbursement request.
 - c. The employee must submit each reimbursement request within 30 days after successfully completing the course.
 - d. The employee shall disclose all sources of funding received for the course. DGO will only reimburse the employee for that portion of tuition, books and fees that are not reimbursed/funded by other sources (e.g. scholarships, grants, faculty reductions, grants in aid, GI Bill, etc.)
- G. Reimbursements are counted against the maximum allowance per calendar year at the time the reimbursement is made, not at the time the course is taken.
- H. DGO will not pay any portion of an employee's tuition, books or fees if an employee withdraws or fails to successfully complete a course approved under this policy. The employee shall notify the supervisor in writing within one month of withdrawal or failure to successfully complete a course.
- I. An employee must be employed by DGO at the time they successfully complete the course to be eligible for reimbursement.
- J. An employee who resigns from state employment or transfers to another department within one year of completing educational work shall repay assistance received per the provisions of section 3.2.2 below.

3.2 Procedures

3.2.1 Education Assistance Reimbursement

- A. Prior to the start of a course or term, an eligible employee must complete the DGO Education Assistance Agreement form.
 - a. This form must be approved by the employee's immediate supervisor, budget officer and Division Director.
 - b. All approvals must be obtained prior to the first day of the course.
- B. Copies of the approved agreement shall be provided to the employee and placed in the employee's personnel file.
- C. To request reimbursement, the employee must submit the following paperwork to the Division Director or designee within 30 days from the employee's successful completion of the course:
 - a. The completed and signed DGO Education Assistance Agreement form;



Utah Department of Government Operations

- b. A completed Division of Finance Form FI-48;
- c. An official receipt showing that the employee paid for the tuition, books and fees for the course;
- d. A copy of the official record or transcript of grades showing that the employee successfully completed the course with a passing grade of "C" or better or a "Pass" in a pass/fail system.
- D. Reimbursement will be based on the receipts received and the terms of the Education Assistance Agreement.
 - a. The DGO will only reimburse the employee for that portion of tuition, books and fees that is not reimbursed, funded, or paid for by other sources.
 - b. If the amount to be reimbursed is less than the amount listed in the Education Assistance Agreement, the DGO will reimburse the employee based on the actual costs as confirmed by receipts received.
 - c. If the amount is greater than the amount listed in the Education Assistance Agreement, the DGO will not reimburse the employee for the excess amount unless the Education Assistance Agreement is amended and approved by the executive director to reimburse the employee for the greater amounts.

3.2.2 Repayment

- A. An employee who resigns from state employment or transfers to another department within 12 months after receiving education assistance reimbursement, shall reimburse DGO the entire cost of the education assistance reimbursement payments they received from DGO during the 12 month period prior to separation of employment.
- B. Full payment should be made to the state within 30 days after which time the debt will be turned over to the Office of State Debt Collection.

4 RELATED DOCUMENTS (e.g., procedures, other policies, forms etc.)

- DGO Education Assistance Agreement form
- Division of Finance Form FI-48



Amendment/Change Log

<policy name=""> Amendment/Change Log</policy>					
Date	Section/ Heading	Change/Edit	Additional Information (if needed)	Change Approved By	Change Approval Date